43rd Ascs Annual Conference and Meeting


The 43rd ASCS Conference and Annual Meeting will be hosted in hybrid format at The University of Tasmania’s Hobart city campus between 8-11 February 2022. It will be possible to participate in the conference online or in person.


The conference will make use of the University’s interactive ‘Zoom Rooms’ in its Hobart city campus. All paper sessions and workshops will take place in one of two hubs: the ‘Podium Building’ (Melville St), and the former ‘KPMG Building’ (Harrington St). These are venues 12 and 14 respectively on this campus map: UTas Hobart City Campus.pdf

Conference Programme

A draft programme will be published in early December.


Conference registration will run between 1 December 2021 and 1 February 2022.

$80: Standard rate (waged delegates)
$30: Concession rate (student or unwaged delegates)

Funds raised through registration will cover the basic expenses of running the conference for all participants. Please note that registration does not include any meals or beverages: for those attending the conference in Hobart, a range of food and drink options will be available for purchase at the conference venues. Any funds left over at the end of the conference will be put aside for postgraduate travel support for the 2023 ASCS 44 conference at the University of Canterbury.

Registration includes:

  • The ASCS Conference: Tuesday 8 February – Friday 11 February 2022
  • The Whova conference app (web and/or mobile)
  • A.D. Trendall Lecture (Australian Academy of the Humanities)
  • ASCS Keynote Lecture
  • A range of workshops and plenary sessions
  • Conference Materials

Postgraduate Travel Support

Funding is available to support students travelling to Hobart in 2022. Anyone wishing to apply for funding should complete the form below and return it to the ASCS Honorary Secretary (Dr Daniel Osland) via secretary@ascs.org.audeadline 15 January 2022.

ASCS Conference Travel Subsidy 2021.docx

ASCS 43 Organising Committee

Dr Jonathan Wallis (Convenor)
Dr Graeme Miles
Dr Jayne Knight
Dr Charlotte Dunn

This entry was posted in Conferences. Bookmark the permalink.